Tacos (in a Salad)

tacosalad6

I love tacos.  Like really love them.  Like I’d maybe consider marrying them.

And while I’m not quite ready to say I love tacos more than pizza at this exact moment, I’m sure there are times when such a proclamation might be made.

tacosalad3

I love the crispy shells.  The soft shells.  The spiced ground beef.  Tacos with cilantro lime marinated chicken.  Shrimp tacos with fruit salsa.  The taco truck tacos.  The overpriced restaurant tacos.  The Taco Bell tacos.  Tacos in foil.  Tacos on plates.  Tacos with sides of beans and rice.  Tacos with sides of lime wedges and cabbage.  Tacos with salsa.  Tacos with sour cream.  Tacos with avocado.  Tacos in my mouth.

tacosalad4

I am an equal-opportunity taco eater and lover.

But you see the thing is… tacos… well much like pizza… I can’t exactly justify eating them on the regular.  Because according to my hips, they’re not the healthiest thing in the world.  And according to Shakira, “Hips Don’t Lie.”  Jerks.

Although just a few months ago I was visiting my lovely friend Paloma, who is also an avid lover of tacos, and her wonderful Momma introduced me to a whole new world of tacos.

tacosalad5

Taco Salads!

And before you tsk, tsk, tsk… I should forewarn you there is no taco shell involved and the dressing isn’t creamy.

These are basically a deconstructed taco and can be as healthy or unhealthy for that matter, as you want them to be.  And since I’m getting all fixed to get married and stuff, this recipe errs on the side of healthy.

tacosalad

Sweets and I throw this easy dinner together probably once a week.  It’s become one of our favorite go-to quick and easy dinners.  It’s also the perfect thing to make when we have friends over for din-din.  I can think of at least three pals who’ve enjoyed this particular meal at Casa de Krajewski-Sharpe.

A few of those dinner guests have actually reported checking S&K for the recipe… and I’ve failed them!  And failed you!  But not for long!  I’m redeeming myself right NOW!

Taco Salads ala Deborah Parker ❤

  • 1 lb ground beef, turkey or chicken
  • 1 jar of your favorite salsa
  • salad greens of your choice – I usually use an Arugula/Spinach mix
  • 1 small can of sliced black olives
  • 1/2 c. sliced grape/cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 c. grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • tortilla chips of your choice (optional)
  • 1 lime
  • Garlic Powder
  • Chile Powder
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Any other chopped veggies of your choice – bell peppers, red onions, carrots, cucumbers – your world (or this salad) is your oyster!
  • Your choice of dressing!  I love Trader Joes Cilantro dressing but if I haven’t made a TJ run in awhile I use extra virgin olive oil, red wine vinegar, juice from half a lime and salt & pepper.

In medium sauce pan cook meat and season with garlic powder, chile powder, salt and pepper.  Once it’s cooked a good bit add about 1/4 – 1/2 cup of salsa and cook in with the meat.

In large bowl combine greens, olives, tomatoes, any other chopped veggies, with salad dressing and the juice from 1/2 your lime.  Add salt & pepper as/if needed.

Assemble dressed greens on plate or in bowl and top with meat, cheese, avocado, a small handful of tortilla chips, a dollop of salsa and a lime wedge.

tacosalad2

Annnnnd… serve.

Yup it’s that easy.  And it’s SO delicious.  I’m fairly certain once you give this a try it will become a weekly favorite.  But don’t thank me  – thank Deborah.

And on that note, thank you Paloma’s mom!  James and I and our bellies are forever thankful!

2 thoughts on “Tacos (in a Salad)

Leave a comment